European Summer School on the (Global) Cold War

Categoria :Call for papers

Data :a partire da : mercoledì, 01 settembre 2021 a 10:00 fino a : venerdì, 03 settembre 2021 a 18:00

Data di scadenza : venerdì, 30 aprile 2021

Luogo :Utrecht University (online) (Olanda)

Mail di contatto :

Source: Angela Romano

Riassunto :

We encourage submissions on any aspect of the (Global) Cold War, broadly defined. Of particular interest are papers that draw on newly available primary sources, employ nontraditional methodologies, and highlight perspectives of previously understudied actors from (Eastern) Europe, the Soviet Union, and the Global South. Researchers that focus on race, gender, transnational networks, reconciliation, the politics of memory, the environment, development, and ideas are actively encouraged to apply. To apply for the Summer School, prospective participants should submit a 300-word abstract and a brief academic CV (in a single PDF document, with the file titled as your surname). Please send your application to by 30 April 2021 and do not hesitate to contact us at this email address if you have any questions. Prospective participants should only apply if they are prepared, if admitted, to attend the Summer School for its full substantive duration.

Dettagli :

The Summer School is an excellent opportunity for PhD candidates and early career researchers to present papers, get to know one another, and discuss their work with peers and experts in the field.

The Cold War Summer School has a very high student to faculty ratio, allowing participants to have in-depth conversations about their research with established scholars in the field.

The Summer School will consist of events such as workshops, small-group sessions, presentations, panel sessions, a documentary screening, and a virtual pub quiz.

The organising team (Utrecht University):
Laurien Crump
Lorena De Vita
Frank Gerits
Corina Mavrodin
Eline van Ommen
Paschalis Pechlivanis

Assisting interns (Utrecht University):
Stamatia Chroni
Cathal Digan
Carys Flew

Participating faculty:
Roham Alvandi (London School of Economics and Political Science)
Anne Deighton (University of Oxford) [TBC]
Mario Del Pero (Sciences Po, Paris)
Ruud van Dijk (University of Amsterdam)
Tanya Harmer (London School of Economics and Political Science)
Emma Hunter (University of Edinburgh)
Alessandro Iandolo (University of Oxford)
Eirini Karamouzi (University of Sheffield)
Jan Koura (Charles University, Prague)
Piers Ludlow (London School of Economics and Political Science)
Aryo Makko (Stockholm University)
Leopoldo Nuti (Università Roma Tre)
Sue Onslow (SOAS University of London)
Sergey Radchenko (Cardiff University)
Svetozar Rajak (London School of Economics and Political Science) [TBC]
Oliver Rathkolb (University of Vienna)
Angela Romano (University of Glasgow)
Federico Romero (European University Institute)
Giles Scott-Smith (Leiden University)
Odd Arne Westad (Yale University)
Vladislav Zubok (London School of Economics and Political Science)